Why the needs to store
umbilical cord and cord blood?

Immense potential for future
regenerative medicine opportunities

Medical Waste Vs “Precious Health Resources” ?

Since the first successful case of umbilical cord blood transplant 30 years ago in Paris for a boy with Fanconi anemia, a genetic and potentially life-threatening type of anemia, the medical community has continuously been studying, researching and conducting clinical trials on the umbilical cord blood application to save countless patients at crucial time. With the advancement of Bioscience, there is enormous potential for Regenerative Medicine using stem cells from umbilical cord blood.

Big decisions on banking for future hope of health, or abandoning the precious health resources?
Store NOW for your family’s future health assurance!

Read More

Understanding umbilical cord and cord blood

The umbilical cord connects a baby in the womb to its mother. It runs from an opening in the baby’s stomach to the placenta in the womb. The average cord is about 50 to 60 cm (20 inches) long and about 1 cm thick.
The umbilical cord carries oxygen and nutrients from the placenta into the baby’s bloodstream.
The umbilical cord is made up of:

  • one vein that carries blood rich in oxygen and nutrients from the mother to the baby
  • two arteries that return deoxygenated blood and waste products, such as carbon dioxide, from the baby back to the placenta

Towards the final stages of pregnancy, the placenta passes antibodies through the umbilical cord from the mother to the baby. These give the baby immunity from infections for about three months after birth. However, it can only pass on antibodies which the mother already has.

Cord blood is rich in hematopoietic stem cells, which assist the fetus’s growth through the manufacturing of blood (red blood cells, platelets and etc.) and enhance the immune system (lymphocytes, immune cells, etc.). In fact, the real therapeutic effect is not cord blood itself but cord blood stem cells.

Your baby’s cord blood stem cells are a perfect genetic match for your newborn, and they have a high probability of being a suitable match for siblings and parents. This eliminates the risk of transplant rejection (GVHD) for your newborn, and significantly reduces the risk of GVHD for immediate family members. SAVING your baby’s cord blood provides your family with the best chance of survival, recovery, and a renewed quality of life when facing a life-threatening disease or condition.

Umbilical cord and cord blood

Has been in use for more than 30 years worldwide

More than 40,000 transplant cases9

The world’s first case of cord blood transplant was done in 1988. Matthew Farrow, suffered from aplastic anemia (also known as Fanconi Anemia) when he was only 5 years old. He received cord blood transplants at Hôpital Saint-Louis, Paris, France. The cord blood came from his newly borne younger sister and the transplantation was very successful. Matthew is now healthy grown up, not only married and become a father to a child, he also works in a cord blood bank to share his story of cord blood saving and giving him a second change in life.

Read More

Stem cells are called “universal cells” in the medical community. In the past 20 years, the scientists and medical teams have been conducting researches and the application of stem cells in medical treatment and regenerative medicine. It has been proven that stem cells can treat as many as 113 diseases and regenerative treatments, including malignancies (cancers), blood, innate immune system disorders and metabolic disorders. In the lung disease, nervous system diseases, skin diseases and other medical research has made great breakthroughs and progress.

Read More

Stem cell has ultimate potential in health treatment

Treat more than 113 diseases and regenerative treatments2 ,3

The main difference between storing umbilical cord blood and umbilical cord

Items Umbilical Cord Blood Umbilical Cord
Source Umbilical cord blood is the excess blood from the cord and/or the placenta after baby is born The cord tissue from umbilical cord of your newborn baby also has an exceptional source of valuable stem cells which is vastly different from cord blood stem cells.
Stem cell types Stem cells derived from cord blood are called hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs). They are the building blocks of the body’s blood and immune systems. Stem cells from cord tissues are known as mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs). They have shown great potential in the fields of regenerative medicine, tissue engineering and gene therapy.
Clinical trial application and indications Cord blood’s Hematopoietic Stem Cells (HSCs) have the ability to repair and replace blood cells that has been damaged by diseases, chemotherapy or other medical conditions to treat blood, immune, metabolic diseases Mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) from the cord tissues can differentiate into a variety of cell types, including bone, cartilage, muscle, nerve and others to treat tissues or organs degenerated by diseases. The use of cord tissue stem cells has the enormous potential to make regenerative medicine a life-saving reality.
Read More

Process: Painless, safe and reliable

Collection Procedure

1. Collection : Specialized and dedicated specimen courier team

Within 12 hours after notification from the expectant parents, our dedicated courier team will retrieve the umbilical specimens from the hospital of birth with a temperature control incubator and send it to our laboratory for processing and storage.

2. Identity Verification

Umbilical specimen collected shall be verified again upon reaching Cryolife’s laboratory to ensure accurate identify of the specimen against its rightful owner. A unique ID code shall be assigned to the sample as part of privacy protection.

3. Sample Retrieved

Before processing, a small portion of cord blood sample together with the maternal blood will be retrieved for stipulated tests covering infectious diseases and blood grouping.

4. Automated Processing

The red blood cells and plasma from the cord blood sample shall be removed to harvest the cord blood stem cells. This process is performed by AXP (AutoXpressTM Platform), an advance automated cell recovery system which is functionally closed and sterile, ensuring quality contamination control and efficient recovery of the mononuclear cells (MNCs) from the cord blood. After this process, a small concentrated cord blood aliquot is prepared for stipulated tests.

5. Controlled-Rate Freezing and Storage

After processing, cryoprotectant will be added to the processed cord blood unit and it will then be ready for long term cryostorage. The unit will undergo a slow freezing process at a controlled rate until it reaches -90'C before it is transferred to a vapour phase liquid nitrogen tank for long-term storage at -185C or lower. Guideline from AABB is to store at -150C or lower.

6. On-going Quality Assurance

CRYOLIFE conducts biannual (2 times per year) quality assurance program to ensure the quality of cryopreserved cord blood units in each storage tank. Terminated or dummy cryopreserved units will be retrieved and thawed for quality tests including cell viability and cord blood stem cell count. Cord blood stem cell activities are also analyzed by performing colony formation unit (CFU) assay.

为何储存脐带脐带血?

细小干细胞 无限大可能

医疗废物VS「生命瑰宝」

30多年首宗脐带血移植并成功的案例开始, 医学界不断地钻研脐带血的应用,从临床医学发展至再生医学疗法,在关键时刻成功拯救无数家庭。储存健康的希望,还是抛弃珍贵的「备份生命」 ?您,懂得选择!

更多资讯

认识脐带及脐带血

脐带约粗1 厘米,长约50 至60 厘米,连接着妈妈和胎儿,让妈妈可以把营养及氧气透过脐带血输送给胎儿,并将废料从胎儿身上带走。脐带血是脐带内与胎盘中的血液。

脐带血内含有丰富的造血干细胞,为胎儿制造血液(红血球、白血球等) 及免疫系统 (淋巴、免疫细胞等)的主要来源。准确来说 ,真正有治疗效用的并不是脐带血 ,而是脐血内的干细胞。

脐带 与 脐带血

全球已应用超过30年

超过40,000 移植个案9

全球脐带血首宗移植案例发生于1988年。当时患有再生不良性贫血病 (又称范康尼贫血) 的Matthew Farrow只有5岁。他在法国巴黎Hôpital Saint-Louis接受脐带血移植,脐带血来自当时刚出生的妹妹,手术十分顺行。小男孩现已健康地长大成人,不仅结婚生子,还于一所脐血库工作,继续乐于分享脐带血拯救他生命的故事。

应用个案

干细胞在医学界中被称为「万用细胞」。 20年来, 医学界不断地发展干细胞在医疗及再生医学上的科研及应用。临床证实,干细胞可治疗多达113种疾病, 包括 恶性肿瘤(癌症)、血液、先天性免疫系统不全及代谢异常疾病等。在肺部疾病、神经系统疾病、皮肤疾病等医学研究方面也取得了很大的突破和进展。

更多应用及治疗

干细胞发展潜力无限

治疗多达113种疾病2 ,3

储存脐带与脐带血的主要分别

项目 脐带血 脐带
来源 每个新生婴儿的脐带血及胎盘 每个新生婴儿的脐带都拥有与脐带血不同的干细胞
干细胞种类 大量造血干细胞及少量间叶系干细胞,它们是人体血液和免疫系统的基石 来自脐带组织的干细胞被称为间叶系干细胞(MSC)。它们在再生医学、组织工程和基因治疗领域上有巨大的潜力
临床医疗应用适应症 脐带血的造血干细胞(HSC)能够修复和替代被疾病破坏的血细胞、化学疗法或其他医治疗程导致血细胞受损,用以治疗血液、免疫及代谢疾病等 来自脐带组织的间叶系干细胞(MSC)可分化成不同种类的细胞,包括骨、软骨、肌肉、神经和其他类型的细胞,以治疗疾病及器官组织退化
更多用处

过程:无痛、安全、可靠

收集流程

1. 专车专人运送脐血

在准父母通知后的12小时内,我们有专人到达医院收取脐血,并妥善存放于保温箱内,再直接由转车送往实验室处理。

2.核对资料

脐带血送回实验室后,会再次核对盒内脐血样本的身份证明资料,然后编上序号,以便追踪理。

3. 化验脐血

我们会对母血及脐血样本进行传染性病毒测试及作血型测试。在处理脐血前,会先抽取一小份样本作检测用途。

4. 自动化脐血处理

采用AXP (AutoXpressTM Platform) 自动化细胞恢复系统,去除脐血样本内大部份的红血球及血浆,保留脐带血中的干细胞。自动化细胞处理系统提供一个完全密封的无菌环境,并能提高从脐血中回收到的单核细胞数量。完成后,需抽取少量样本进行检测用途。

5. 低温控速冷冻及永久储存

干细胞储存于多间隔密闭式抗冻血袋后,以电脑控速降温仪,进行温度缓降,直至-90°C,再将脐血干细胞转入-185°C气态液氮储存缸作永久保存。

6. 定期进行品质监控

为确保存放在-185°C气态液氮储存缸中脐血干细胞的品质,我们定期每六个月进行质检测试。我们会将气态液氮储存缸中的不获续存的脐血样本解冻,然后测试细胞的活性及脐血干细胞的数量,同时进行聚落形成单元(CFU)测试,分析脐血干细胞的功能,确保细胞的活性健康。